Roller Derby – Pt. 2

This past weekend, I photographed my second roller derby at the Fillmore Auditorium. Only this time I chose to focus on doing primarily a few portraits of the girls from the Rocky Mountain Roller Girls. I wanted to try something new that I haven’t done before, so I tried my hand at doing some composite portraits. I photographed the girls before the event when it was empty, then during the event I photographed the Fillmore when it was full, giving a unique look that couldn’t be done otherwise.

Since, this was my first time doing composite type portrait, it was a great learning experience, and I certainly have some ideas on how to improve them in the future. Below are a couple of set up shots from before the derby actually started, you can see that the place was pretty empty, when we actually did the portraits.

The main key to all these photos is that you have to shoot the image from the exact same place, with the exact same focal length, and angle. So I used gaffers tape to mark where the tripod was, and I also taped the zoom ring down. That way during the actual bout, I could return to the center and take the pictures in the exact same place.

4 Comments on “Roller Derby – Pt. 2”

  1. April
    April 8, 2010 at 2:45 pm #

    Fun shots! I especially love the one of Annia Late Her (2nd shot). You have much more patience than me. I am too lazy for composites:)
    Thanks so much for coming out and doing these for us!

    • samadamsphoto
      April 8, 2010 at 3:06 pm #

      Hey April,

      Glad you like them. I am not usually one to spend that much time in PS, but I wanted to try something different. I certainly want to try this again, changing up a few variables to make them a little bit more exact.

  2. Ronda (Widow)
    April 10, 2010 at 8:42 pm #

    Thank you so much for doing this!!! All the pic’s look great. I really like the ones that look like the background is going by real fast but the girl is standing still. Very Cool!!! Is there any way I can see more pic’s? Again Thanks!!!

  3. javier
    April 12, 2010 at 8:25 pm #

    Hey nice work, as usual Sam. Hope all is well with ya.

    -javier

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 357 other followers

