Image

Business Portrait of Kent Thiry, CEO of DaVita Inc.

Just got a tear-sheet from this months issue of Colorado Biz magazine’s executive edge section. This month’s story was on Kent Thiry of DaVita Inc., DaVita is a Fortune 500 company specializing in kidney care and dialysis, and they  just moved their corporate headquarters to Denver. The image in the background in a rendering of the completed corporate headquarters that DaVita is currently building in Denver. I also had the opportunity to work directly for DaVita, this past month as a result of this shoot. I photographed over a hundred of their employees out volunteering around the Denver metro area to benefit “Concerts for Kids”, for more on that and a few of my photos click this link to: DaVita Volunteers

Kent Thiry | DaVita Inc. CEO

To view a set up shot and lighting info click to read

Lighting Setup

Like most CEO’s Mr. Thiry is generally a very busy man. We had a total of 45 minutes with Mr. Thiry to do the interview, 30 minutes, and the photo, about 10 mins. I knew going into this shoot I wouldn’t have a lot of time to be messing with lights and adjustments, so I arrived about an hour and half early to make sure I could choose my location, set up, and adjust the lighting to my needs. That way when my subject arrives there is no messing around and we can get right to business.  I lit this image with an Alien Bee 1600 with a large softbox as the main light, and I used an AB 800 with a 20 degree grid spot as a rim light to create separation between the subject and background. Both lights were triggered with pocket wizards and the photo was taken with a Canon 5d w/ a 70-200mm lens @ 70mm.

Leave a Reply

